Who We Are

Greeting Saints! Welcome to the website of the Episcopal Church in Northern Indiana, the Crossroads of America. I’m Doug Sparks, and I have the privilege of serving as bishop of this diocese.

There are 36 Faith Communities or congregations, from Gary to Angola, South Bend to Kokomo, Valparaiso to Forth Wayne and everywhere in between. 

 I’ve discovered that we are a diverse, generous, inspiring and hopeful community of Disciples who are members of the Growing Episcopal Branch of the Jesus Movement.

 We are committed to living out the Baptismal Covenant and have embraced the 5 Marks of Mission: 

  1. to Proclaim the Good News;
  2. to Teach, Baptize and Nurture new believers;
  3. to Respond to Human Need by Loving Service;
  4. to Transform unjust structures of society, to Challenge violence of every kind and to Pursue peace and reconciliation and
  5. to Strive to safeguard the integrity of creation and sustain and renew the life of the earth as OUR way of engaging God’s Mission in Northern Indiana.

 There are two initiatives we hope will help us to live more fully into these 5 Marks of Mission.

 We have given ourselves over to the work of Racial Reconciliation and Racial Justice, living more fully into becoming Beloved Community, by telling the truth about racism, proclaiming God’s dream, practicing the way of Jesus and repairing the breaches caused by the sin of racism.

 Thanks to a grant for the United Thank Offering, we have called a Missioner for Community Engagement who is assisting all of our Faith Communities in Asset Based Community Development, hoping to discern and building on our assets.

 If you’re planning a move to Northern Indiana, send us an email, we would be happy to connect you to one of our faith communities.

 If you’re looking for a ministry opportunity, send me an email, I’d love to have a conversation with you.

 Most importantly, please pray for us here in Northern Indiana, as we strive to become, more and more, God’s Beloved Community!


Where We Are?

The Diocese of Northern Indiana comprises the northern third of the state and includes the following counties: Adams, Allen, Benton, Blackford, Carroll, Cass, DeKalb, Elkhart, Fulton, Grant, Howard, Huntington, Jasper, Jay, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Lake, La Porte, Marshall, Miami, Newton, Noble, Porter, Pulaski, St. Joseph, Starke, Steuben, Wabash, Wells, White, and Whitley.

The diocese has sections in both the Central and Eastern time zones. A complete list of parish contact information is available. The diocesan office, located in downtown South Bend, is on Eastern Time.


For the Mission of the Church

Everliving God, whose will it is that all should come to you through your Son Jesus Christ: Inspire our witness to him, that all may know the power of his forgiveness and the hope of his resurrection; who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and for ever. Amen.